A sprained ankle and humiliation…

Have you ever felt like you’ve been put in your place? Ever realized that maybe you were giving yourself a little more credit than you deserved and didn’t even realize you were doing it? Being humbled is…well…humiliating, but in my experience, it usually leads to correction and, in that sense, is a blessing.

This is going to sound a little silly, but this is all coming from dealing with my sprained ankle the past two weeks. I caught myself getting frustrated about how I don’t feel like I’ve been very productive or “useful” lately. If you know me, I don’t like staying in one place for too long especially if I’m not being productive.

Hopefully I’m going to start making sense to someone other than myself in a second so if you’ve made it this far, I congratulate you. I feel like lately I’ve been giving a lot of lip service to my dependence on my Lord without actually committing to it. It’s easy to “trust in the Lord” or “lean not on your own understanding” when life’s a breeze. Again, you’ve heard this a million times, I know. Just let me vent, ok?

I’ve been frustrated. School stuff. Church stuff. Bible stuff. Mentally and emotionally, I’ve been worn out. Am I trusting? You bet. Am I letting go? Being anxious in nothing so that I can once again partake of the peace that transcends all understanding? No! So what’s the deal? How can I trust and still hang on to frustration? It needs to be a conscious, intentional decision to let go. To trust in my Savior, not more than myself but instead of myself. I guess God taking me out of action helped me out a bit. That and I Corinthians 1:26-31:

For consider your calling, brothers: not many of you were wise according to worldly standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth. But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, so that no human being might boast in the presence of God. He is the source of your life in Christ Jesus, whom God made our wisdom and our righteousness and sanctification and redemption. Therefore, as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.

I’m going to make this exposition short and sweet. God did not choose me because I had (or really ever will have) anything to bring to the table. If you think about it, the real reason I’m here, is to make Him look better. My purpose is to glorify Him to the best of my ability. Trying to worry about things and go it alone is counterproductive. I decide to give Him every opportunity to make much of himself. He must increase, I must decrease.

Praise God that His plan is nothing like my own. My prayer is that God would take me down as often that He needs to and that He continues to give me the grace to learn the lessons he has for me.

2 Responses to A sprained ankle and humiliation…

  1. Em says:

    mmHmm!
    “Be Still and Know that I am God”

    Sounds painfully familiar and I’m sure I’ll have many more run-ins with it this semester 🙂

  2. Augie says:

    That’s crazy, crazy stuff. The college group I was at tonight used the exact same verse. Brilliant timing,eh?

Leave a Reply

