One Down, Five to Go.

A couple of weeks ago I somehow lost my ESV Bible. So what did I do? Well, now I carry around an NIV (translated in both English and Spanish) and leave my NASB at home for when I do most of my reading. Honestly though, it’s been bugging me that I don’t have my ESV. I’ve already got plans to buy another one very soon. It is my favorite translation after all. I guess I’ll have to make due with what I’ve got for now, I mean they aren’t my favorite Bibles but, like I said, I’ve got to deal with what I have for now. I tell you all this because just now, a whopping 13 hours after hearing it, I’m utterly struck by the chapel message today.

Vladimir Dervishi is a man with an incredible story but I’ll let you read about the basic details in his own words. He finished translating the first Albanian New Testament and has been working on the Old Testament since 2002. His work schedule is posted on his web site as well and gives me a whole new respect for Bible translaters. By the time he finishes the OT it’ll have taken him 10 years!

Now the part that has got me thinking and praying now is when he talked about the statistics that Bible translators are facing. He told us there are about 6000 known languages in the world today. Of those 6000, somewhere around 2600 don’t have a written Bible. Granted, in a lot of countries they speak more than one language so there’s a possibility that if they can’t get a Bible in one of their languages they could get it in the other, but somehow I know that there are PLENTY that can’t get the Bible in a language they understand. At age 19 I’ve already spent an entire 3 months of my school career devoted to studying the Bible. Not to mention all my Bible classes and chapels throughout my time at Woodland Christian. Nor to mention all of my time spent at church. Can you imagine being middle aged, old even, and never have read a Bible? I can’t fathom it. It’s one of those things that I’ve always realized intellectually but never taken the time to really let sink in. This actually happens.

I did some inventory. Before I lost my ESV I had six Bibles. Even more if you count all those Gideon New Testaments I’ve accumulated over the years. Six Bibles written in 5 different versions. Well, shoot. Now I’m starting to sound spoiled…

2 Responses to One Down, Five to Go.

  1. Em says:

    I picked up a brochure in the caf today. It’s titled “Wycliffe Needs Teachers.” Yeah, I change my mind more often than . . . well . . . you know. I have destination ADD.

  2. Casey L. says:

    well, i just looked over to the shelf to my left in my office here and counted 11 bibles (in 3 different languages: english, spanish, and greek). then i looked at my desk and saw one more. and i know there are more in the closet of my office, and a few more still at home. talk about spoiled.

Leave a Reply

