Pray.

So it’s been awhile. I’m home from housesitting without internet for two and a half weeks so for all 3 of you (I’m guessing) that kept looking for updates I apologize.

Anyway, I’m going to tell you the same thing we’re going to talk about in Bible study tomorrow. I want you to pray. Please. I’ve got requests and I’ll get to those, but more importantly, just pray. I’ve never met anyone who thinks they pray enough and I think that’s a great attitude to have. Especially according to I Thessalonians 5:16-18:

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Jesus Christ for you.

We all admit that we fall pathetically short in this area, so now what? I take my cues from Jesus:

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. (Mark 1:35)

It makes the degree of his humanity apparent because it seems he felt that he couldn’t pray where he was without being distracted. The time that he went out to pray is convicting as well. While it was still dark? Ouch. My prayer is that I would have the same zeal for conversation with God that Christ did.

What a trip to think about though, getting up way early and getting away from everyone to…well…pray to yourself. You know, that whole trinity thing. I know, I know. He submitted to the will of His Father all the time while on Earth but the thought of praying to God when you are God still blows my mind and, frankly, it should blow your mind too. Don’t judge me.

Anyway, a personal challenge from me to you! Do what it takes to focus. Do what it takes to “pray without ceasing” or at least to send up praises, requests, and cares to God as much as you can for a day. Go get by yourself. Get on your knees. Heaven forbid, we could fast. Radical, I know. Let me know how it works out.

One Response to Pray.

  1. Casey L. says:

    wild…you mentioned mark 1:35, and i was just preaching on mark 1:35 at high school group last night. actually, it was luke 4:42-44, but mark 1 was a parallel cross reference, so i went there too.

    well, have fun in mexico…i hope you can avoid monetzuma’s revenge…

Leave a Reply

