Resolutions.

Most people I know find resolutions a little hokey. To be honest I usually agree. Regardless, this year there are two things that I’m going to set out to do that are important to me and will require significant effort if previous experience proves any indication of things to come.

  1. 51ya8yyy5xl_aa240_.jpgRead the entire Bible in one year.
         It’s something I’ve actually done before, 2 years ago. This past year I was kind of just winging my way through in my reading and didn’t like it nearly as much. There’s something about reading the Bible in it’s entirety that feels so much better than feeling like you, a fallen man, has been the one picking and choosing what to read. Besides, when was the last time that you sat down and read through II Chronicles? Jude? Zephaniah? III John? Yeah, that’s what I thought. It’s been awhile for me too.
  2. 08300.gifStick with one college for an entire calendar year.
    You laugh, but I’m a Junior and I’ve never done it. Third time’s a charm right? Well, maybe for you. It’s taken me four times…so far.  Prayerfully this is the last one.

So what about you? Any resolutions you care to share?

6 Responses to Resolutions.

  1. Casey L says:

    I too have begun using that MacArthur daily Bible for this year as well. Like you said, I don’t want to have my Scripture readings chosen by a fallen, sinful man. This is why I have MacArthur do it for me instead.

  2. bryangumpy says:

    Hmmm…now that I’ve had my words written back at me I sense a hint of inconsistency. Somehow I think I mean what you know though.

  3. Casey L. says:

    “I mean what you know”? Now I’m confused.

    So who won at Risk last night? I told Chad to attempt to webcam me into the game, but I don’t think my request was taken seriously!

  4. bryangumpy says:

    Even after he cheated I was still winning so he ‘fessed up and we finished on a DQ. I slaughtered his entire army and while I wasn’t looking he swapped one of my soldiers for one of his. I didn’t see it, next turn he turned in cards and it took me a couple turns to get some decent reinforcements moved back to him. Thankfully we didn’t have to play it out.

    “I mean what you know”…you know what I mean? It’s a phrase I picked up from Tyson Surls if that makes any more sense. Who cares about syntax?

  5. Casey L says:

    Yeah, that’s very Surls-esque. I’m surprised that I don’t recall ever hearing it…

  6. Tyson Surls says:

    Dude…I looked myself up on Google and I got to this blog. These posts may be old, but I’m glad I found your blog. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

