Contentment vs. Authenticity

So 9 days out of 10, well, probably more often that actually, ask me how I am.  I’ll probably tell you I’m doing “great” or “awesome” or at worst “not bad”.  On that one other day, unfortunately I’m probably going to say the same things.  Nobody likes that person who is going to tell you they’re doing fine no matter how bad their day is.  So today I’m going to be authentic.

Today sucked. Mostly school stuff with a little bit of friend stuff on the side. Yeah, it sucked.

6 Responses to Contentment vs. Authenticity

  1. Laurie says:

    Phony contentment is not contentment, it’s hypocrisy. A person can be truly content and still recognize that things are horribly difficult and really suffer , and even seek comfort from God and fellow believers. As a matter of fact, that’s pretty much what Christian contentment looks like. Here’s your homework from y our Chico mom: Read Phlippians 4: 1-13.

    I’m sorry you had a difficult day. We miss you. Being sick is terrible, especially when it keeps you from seeing the people you care about.

  2. bryangumpy says:

    Somehow I knew that a lady teaching a Study on Christian contentment would read this!

  3. Brianne says:

    feel better? please : )

    anything i can do?

  4. bryangumpy says:

    Oh yeah, I’m good.

  5. augiefash says:

    I hope that wasn’t another one of those 1 out of tens, homeboy? =o)

  6. Augie says:

    Oh yeah…
    And sorry I was absolutely no help on the phone yesterday.
    I’ll try to be more insightful next time. =o)

Leave a Reply

