Gotta love Fridays.

It’s funny how the right scripture at the right time can make all the difference in the world, no matter how many times you’ve heard it, no matter how many chapels you’ve sat through based on that text. This passage made my day, and it was only 9 am.

If you put these things before the brothers, you will be a good servant of Christ Jesus, being trained in the words of the faith and of the good doctrine that you have followed. Have nothing to do with irreverent, silly myths. Rather train yourself for godliness; for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come. The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance. For to this end we toil and strive, because we have our hope set on the living God, who is the Savior of all people, especially of those who believe.

Command and teach these things. Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity. Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching. Do not neglect the gift you have, which was given you by prophecy when the council of elders laid their hands on you. Practice these things, immerse yourself in them, so that all may see your progress.  Keep a close watch on yourself and on the teaching. Persist in this, for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers. (I Timothy 4:6-16)

6 Responses to Gotta love Fridays.

  1. Shanon says:

    feeling like a youth lately?

  2. bryangumpy says:

    No, not that. I needed the “devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching.” part of it.

  3. Casey L. says:

    how so, gumpy? in the teaching of it, or the learning part?

  4. bryangumpy says:

    I guess kinda both. I had a bad day last week. I missed Master’s. I missed studying the Bible. I was seriously questioning why I am where I am and why I’m doing what I’m doing. My pastor put this passage in front of me and reminded me that this is what I need to be doing. Speaking of, are you going to Shepherd’s Conference this year?

  5. Casey L. says:

    Nope, I’m not going to Shepherd’s Conference this year. After going 4 years in a row, I was ready to take at least one year off. I’d like to go to T4G this year, but I don’t think I will. As for missing Master’s, have you seen the DEEP extension program they have? You should check it out if you need more elective credits. They offer OT and NT survey. You can look at it on their website under “Academic Programs.”

  6. bryangumpy says:

    Hmmm, I took 2 out of the 4 classes they offer through DEEP while I was there. That leaves me with NT I, which is a good class and is taught by my favorite Professor but the other one is Foundations of Science which all of my friends enrolled in the course told me could double as a disciplinary method.

Leave a Reply

