Whatcha readin?

pair-reading.jpg

It’s been awhile since I’ve asked. What books are you in right now?

6 Responses to Whatcha readin?

  1. Laurie says:

    Well, since you asked, I’m smack in the middle of D.A. Carson’s How Long O Lord, which is my most top of the stack. I’m also reading God and the Astronomers by Robert Jastrow; Predestination by Gordon H. Clark, Nine Marks of a Healthy Church by Mark E. Dever; The Case against Adolexcence by Robert Epstein; and I started The Scandal of the Evangelical Mind, but put it down for a little while because I just got done reading your book Fit Bodies, Fat Minds and don’t like the attitude I tend to cop if I read too much of that type of thing all at once (like James White on steroids and without the debating skills).

    I just got done reading two books by old earth creationists, one definitely better than the other, and the story of the Von Trapp Family Singers (as in The Sound of Music).

  2. Paul Mathers says:

    I’m re-reading Philip K Dick’s Valis for like the fourth time. Although it’s been at least 5 years since the last time. It’s funny how one returns to a book and sometimes finds it horrible when they had loved it before. This is so the opposite. It’s way better than I remembered. In my top 5 of fiction for sure.
    Laurie keeps finding volumes of the complete sermons of Martin Luther all over the place. I read a sermon and then tend to leave the book where I finish it while I wander off thinking about it.
    I do that with poetry too. I’ve been reading Paul Verlaine lately.
    And I’m finishing up Fit Bodies, Fat Minds by Os Guinness.

  3. bryan2 says:

    Your blog, duh. Come on now, you can’t ask me that when you know i just read that…if that makes sense.

  4. Casey L. says:

    I’m reading a book called The Divine Unity of Scripture by a Jewish Christian guy named Adolph Saphir. It was written around 1890 or so as a transcript of a series of lectures he gave, and the guy is ridiculously brilliant. Like Spurgeon-level brilliant. Like, “Why does nobody know who this guy is?”-level brilliant. Of course, I’m only about 25% of the way through the book, so maybe he’ll end up totally screwing up, but I doubt it. He’s laying a pretty good foundation.

    Then schoolwork starts up again in about a month, so there goes recreational reading.

  5. Patrick Mathers says:

    1) The Christians Reasoniable Service vol.1 by Wilhemus a Brakel: Dutch Reformed theology at its fineist. I plan to read all 4 volumes this year.
    2) Providence Handled Practically by Obadiah Sedgwik: He was one of the Westminster divines who was involved with both the confession and the catachesim.
    3) Several Matthew commenteries and books on the Sermon on the Mount: If you come to Sovereign Joy Christian Fellowship you know why.
    4) Foundations of Grace by Steven J. Lawson: One of the best preachers I have ever heard and this book looks to be just as good.
    5) Jeremiah: this is my most important reading right now.

  6. emeliaj says:

    Preface: In two months I get to read whatever I want!! Some of these are text books (at least the ones that I am REALLY liking right now) and some are pipe dreams that I wish I could read more often, and are on my shelf as motivation.
    Rich Christians in an Age of Hunger – Ronald J. Sider
    The Early Church – Henry Chadwick
    Origin of the Species – Charles Darwin
    The Complete Book of Long Distance Cycling – Burk and Pavelka
    Interpreter of Maladies – Jhumpa Lahiri
    Phaedra – Jean Racine

Leave a Reply

