Learning In War-time.

The following is an excerpt from a message that C.S. Lewis gave in 1939 called Learning In War-time.  I’m reading it out of The Weight of Glory which is rapidly becoming my favorite work- or rather collection of works- of his.

It’s interesting to me how of the three enemies of a scholar during war-time he lists, I find two applicable regardless of war.

The first enemy is excitement- the tendency to think and feel about the war when we had intended to think about our work.  The best defence is a recognition that in this, as in everything else, the war has not really raised up a new enemy but only aggravated an old one.  There are always plenty of rivals to our work.  We are always falling in love or quarrelling, looking for jobs or fearing to lose them, getting ill and recovering, following public affairs.  If we let ourselves, we shall always be waiting for some distraction or other end before we can really get down to our work.  The only people who achieve much are those who want knowledge so badly that they seek it while the conditions are still unfavourable.  Favourable conditions never come.  There are, of course, moments when the pressure of the excitement is so great that only superhuman self-control could resist it.  They come both in war and peace. We must do the best we can.

The second enemy is frustration- the feeling that we shall not have time to finish.  If I say to you that no one has time to finish, that the longest human life leaves a man, in any branch of learning, a beginner, I shall seem to you to be saying something quite academic and theoretical.   You would be surprised if you knew how soon one begins to feel the shortness of the thether, of how many things, even in the middle life, we have to say “No time for that,” “Too late now,” and “Not for me.”  But Nature herself forbids you to share that experience.  A more Christian attitude, which can be attained at any age, is that of leaving futurity in God’s hands.  We may as well, for God will certainly retain it whether we leave it to Him or not.  Never, in peace or war, commit your virtue or your happiness to the future.  Happy work is best done by the man who takes his long-term plans somewhat lightly and works from moment to moment “as to the Lord.”  It is only our daily bread that we are encouraged to ask for.  The present is the only time in which any duty can be done or any grace received.

8 Responses to Learning In War-time.

  1. Laurie M. says:

    It’s true, speaking from 44 years of experience, “favorable conditions never come”.

    And I think I’ll borrow this bit for the cotentment study: “Never, in peace or war, commit your virtur or your happiness to the future…

    Fine choice of qoutes young man.

  2. Casey L. says:

    I always feel like such a stupid schlub when I have to admit that my favorite CS Lewis work is still Voyage of the Dawn Treader. I wish I was smarter so I could choose something like The Weight of Glory or The Abolition of Man or A Grief Observed or something like that.

    But still, let’s seem them make Weight of Glory into a killer movie.

    Actually, I heard that they’re going to make a movie out of The Screwtape Letters. That should be interesting.

  3. bryangumpy says:

    Rest easy Casey, not once have I ever felt the urge to call you a “stupid schlub”. To be honest, I struggle to stay focused when reading fiction so I’ve never read the Dawn Treader. I think the next fictional book I try to read is gonna be this one.

    https://store.rabbitroom.com/index.aspx#/details/7e061700-15e1-453a-b1ae-fad95d2f7205

    Just because I’m a fan of the author.

  4. Casey L. says:

    I just finished Andy Peterson’s book awhile ago. It is the perfect kind of fiction book for me: simple, humorous, and with good lessons mixed in it. I rarely read fiction, but that is a fun read. Quick too. The introduction to the book is brilliant, in my opinion.

  5. bryangumpy says:

    Good to hear. I just sold a bunch of text books yesterday, I think it only fitting that I use money made off of books to buy at least one.

  6. Saarland says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Saarland

  7. Aaron says:

    Dude, you should blog sometimes.

  8. Laurie M. says:

    Amen to what Aaron says.

Leave a Reply

