Reading This Week

We started going through Philippians on Sunday and Pat and I are going to be taking turns teaching. So if you think of it, please pray for me in my inexperience.  That being said, to say that I’m enjoying studying would be a severe understatement. Thankfully Pat is letting me use his resources or my experience would be a much different one. You better believe that from now on I’ll be asking for commentaries for Christmas, Birthdays, and all other instances where I might receive gifts.

The fantastic part is I get to start on something that was on my heart recently. Well, after seeing the date on the linked post, I guess it wasn’t so recent after all. No matter, it still feels fresh, which is good. It never ceases to amaze me that no matter how familiar a passage is or how many times we may have studied it, there is always more to learn from it. Praise God for the sufficiency of His word!

3 Responses to Reading This Week

  1. Laurie M. says:

    Remind me to remind Paul to dig that copy of The Institutes out of his truck for you. It’s paperback and in a single volume, so will be handy for you. Aaron got us a new set for our wedding gift (that and Luther’s The Bondage of the Will), so we won’t need the other one back.

  2. Casey L. says:

    Commentaries are good to get, but you can waste a lot of money getting bad ones. I would recommend a book called Commentaries for Biblical Expositors by Jim Rosscup (a prof at TMS). That book is extremely helpful in showing what’s worthwhile and what’s junk. There are reviews of commentaries and also a ranking system that ranks the best commentaries on each book in three different categories: Detailed Exegetical, Expositional Survey, and Devotional Flavor.

    Just in case you were wondering, he ranks MacArthur, Lloyd-Jones, and Boice as the fourth, fifth, and sixth best Expositional Surveys on Philippians.

    So are these Sunday morning messages you’re giving, or more like a Sunday evening Bible study? And will they be online anywhere?

    Remember also to always do your own study first, before hitting any commentaries! Over-reliance on commentaries can make a teacher lazy, and that’s never good.

Leave a Reply

