Monday.

I’ve been listening to Alistair Begg messages on pastoral ministry for the last couple weeks and one thing that he said that I’ve been reminded of this week is that expositional preaching is one of the most taxing, exhausting, and rewarding experiences that anyone can do. I say amen on all counts.

I was told today that I should blog about last night’s experience so that I can remember it later. Well after being less than satisfied after my last time teaching, I spent a significantly larger amount of time studying this time. Still not as much as I would like but I’ve got jobs too ya know? It was funny to see how hours passed like minutes while I was studying, even when it was most difficult.

So did I end up doing a better job this time? I dunno. And to be honest, I don’t care so much how smooth my transition between points was or if I was too long or too short. Did people walk away with a greater desire to live for Christ or longing to see Him face to face one day?  (Phil 1:21)  That’s what I care about.

It’s quite a process to get the podcasts up so it’s not up yet, but will be soon. Keep checking here under our night studies.

2 Responses to Monday.

  1. Laurie M. says:

    Transitions between points are supposed to be smooth?! Dang, I’ve been doing it wrong!

    But seriously, I was encouraged and blessed, and convicted for being a bit too attatched to my life at the moment.

  2. Casey L. says:

    Bummer-that podcast page’s last file is from May 25th. So I guess I should be expecting yours by mid-October or so? Regardless of the finished product, though, I’m glad the experience was taxing for you. God willing, it will always remain that way. Whenever I breeze through something in preparation (which happens all too often), it’s never very fulfilling.

    I read a quote about expository preaching on some blog today that I think is fitting here. So here goes:

    “If you are walking up to that pulpit and you are not absolutely certain that you know exactly what that text means and what we are supposed to do in light of it then you need to sit down. You should feel like you know that passage better than anyone in the room…because you have studied it all week long. If this is not the case you should not be preaching.”

Leave a Reply

