Letters to the Editor, Vol. 2

Andrew Osenga did it again. A free album. You can get it here. I haven’t listened to it in its entirety yet but after listening to it the way I usually do a brand new album I think I’m going to like it better than Vol. 1, and I loved Vol. 1.

You’re curious how I listen to a new album now, aren’t you? Ok, so more often than not, I don’t have time to sit and listen to an album straight through and if I do, a lot of times I’m too excited and lack the patience to listen to it straight through and hear all of the songs that way. So this is what I do. For each song on the album I listen to the first 10 seconds then skip to the middle and listen to another 10 seconds, sometimes I’ll even listen to the last 10 seconds. As a musician, I’m actually a little embarrassed of this method, knowing that if the artists ever had a  way of knowing that I was doing that they might want their album back. However, in my experience, it’s proved a quick way to get a general idea of how good an album is going to be…generally. I will say though, I won’t write off an album until I have listened to it straight through, the way it was meant to be listened to. So don’t judge.

How do you listen to a brand new album?

2 Responses to Letters to the Editor, Vol. 2

  1. Brianne says:

    hmm i may have to do that some time. I always listen to one all the way through, but get impatient with the last songs, which isnt fair to me or the songs haha.

  2. Augie says:

    3 seconds max. But I skip like 6 or 7 times a song.
    It’s terrible for any musical appreciation but it’s great for my ADD.

Leave a Reply

