My Master Deserves More

An excerpt from Spurgeon’s Lectures To My Students:

How few of us could compare ourselves with Mr. Joseph Alleine, whose character I have mentioned before? “At the time of his health,” writes his wife, “he did rise constantly at or before four of the clock, and would be much troubled if he heard smiths or other craftsmen at their trades before he was at communion with God; saying to me often, ‘How this noise shames me. Does not my Master deserve more than theirs?'”

What a convicting thing to hear. Maybe people went to bed earlier then, but 4 am was still 4 am. How often does sleep cut into how much time I spend with the Lord? Too often. My Master deserves more.

2 Responses to My Master Deserves More

  1. Laurie says:

    Sleep is a god to many. Ironically enough, I see this more in younger folk, who’ve had a lot less of life to wear them out. Perhaps it’s because as you get older, you realize how short life is and hate to waste potentially fruitful moments. You’ve also got to remember, though, that God ordained sleep as a means to our mental and physical well-being. So, don’t neglect sleep either.

  2. bryangumpy says:

    Noted. However, as you already alluded to, I think sleeping too much may be a young person’s problem.

    Guilty.

Leave a Reply

