Be Courageous, Mr. President

6 Responses to Be Courageous, Mr. President

  1. Dan Gumpy says:

    That is quite profound and disturbing, Mr. Piper makes a bold and truthful statement about the ugly realities of abortion, but I was surprised by the statement that he wept at his inauguration, I did not, but if I had it would be for the things that I would know that are about to occur, how can anyone not know what Barack Obama stands for and how can they not know that he would soon set the wheels in motion making those things happen, a new federally funded abortion executive order on day 3, Gay Marriage and much more to follow soon – my only shock is that people are shocked

  2. bryangumpy says:

    I’m not surprised at all. He wept for joy because we elected our first black president. As the adopted father of an african-american girl, racism is something that hits very close to home for him. I can assure you that he’s not shocked by the decisions Obama has made, as you’ll see in the video below.

  3. Casey says:

    I agree with the elder Gumpy here with regards to the “weep for joy” comment, though I did like most of the rest of what Piper said in that excerpt. But that part reminded me of Rick Warren’s comment about a cloud of witnesses shouting in heaven about the inauguration (really?). Overall, though, Piper has been way too wishy-washy throughout this election cycle. Compare:

    http://bibchr.blogspot.com/2009/01/piper-then-piper-now.html

    The comment made at 7:00 AM on 1/30 by DJP in the thread on that post really clarifies the whole ordeal for me. Disappointing.

  4. Aaron says:

    Piper is not wishy-washy. He’s simply a Calvinist. Though abortion is an abomination, he recognizes that it’s God who chose Obama to be the president, and the fact that God set up a black president to rectify the scales instead of dishing out the judgment this nation deserves for centuries of racism is a sign of God’s grace and mercy.

    “I am writing these thoughts on the evening after the inauguration of Barack Obama, the first African-American President of the United States. I cried twice today. There were two points when I was overwhelmed by the magnitude of it all. Once was when I prayed with some brothers after Obama’s speech and was overcome with the sinfulness of my own racist background. The other was in trying to express my emotion to an African-American brother about what this must mean for him.

    “As much as I reject Obama’s stance on abortion, I am thankful to the bottom of my soul that an African-American can be President of United States. The enormity of it all is unspeakable. This is God’s doing. The geese were God’s doing. The landing of Flight 1549 was God’s doing. And the Obama presidency is God’s doing. ‘He removes kings and sets up kings’ (Daniel 2:21).”

    http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/TasteAndSee/ByDate/2009/3520_The_President_the_Passengers_and_the_Patience_of_God/

  5. Casey says:

    I don’t see how it has anything to do with being a Calvinist (in fact, I consider myself to be one as well). I just think it’s inconsistent to basically say during an election cycle, “Gee, it’s pretty cool to be able to vote for this guy [calling it a “golden moment,” to be exact],” and then to say, “I was so happy when this guy got inaugurated,” and then to thunder from the pulpit, “How dare he do exactly what he said he would do.” To me that seems wishy-washy.

  6. Dan Gumpy says:

    I would have to agree with Casey on this one, see for me I too am proud that this country did in fact elect a black president, but it seems to be the issue that got him elected is a certain “cool factor” about being part of affecting world history in such a profound way , however when I think back to Dr. Martin Luther King’s “I have a dream” speech he said… “I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”
    I believe that may pro-life Americans judged Barack Obama by the color of his skin and voted for him even though they had very real problems with the content of his character and this “golden moment” will in fact cause your’s and my tax dollars to be used to intentionally kill innocent, healthy beautiful babies and it would not surprise me to learn that a majority of them are African-American. Kinda puts a considerable amount of tarnish on a golden moment.

Leave a Reply

